The Chairman and members of the Council are appointed by the Minister of Education and serve for a period of three (3) years. Members of the Council are drawn from public and private sector companies and organizations. Representation on the Council includes:

Permanent Secretaries or representatives from the:

  • Ministry of Education, Youth and Information
  • Ministry of Labour and Social Security

Members of public organizations such as:

  • The Bureau of Standards – Jamaica
  • The Jamaica Confederation of Trade Unions
  • The Jamaica Employers’ Federation

Major business and industrial enterprises and representative bodies such as:

  • Tourism and Hospitality
  • Construction
  • Agriculture
  • Information Technology
  • Beauty Service
  • Manufacturing & Service
  • Commercial Distribution & Retailing
  • Automotive

Members of educational and training organizations such as:

  • The HEART Trust/NTA
  • The University Council of Jamaica
  • The University of Technology
  • The Council of Community Colleges

The Council also includes:

  • The Senior Director, NCTVET
  • The Secretary/Manager of the Council

Structure of the Council

The Council has established two (2) sub-committees through which it conducts its work – Standards and Assessment and Quality Assurance Committees. These Committees are responsible for guiding the work of the NCTVET so that labour market requirements and certification remain current and relevant.

Standards and Assessment

The role of the Standards and Assessment Committee is to assist with the systematic development of Competency Standards for the National Qualifications Framework and to review the work of Lead Groups.

Quality Assurance

The Quality Assurance Committee verifies the delivery, capability, sustainability and quality of programmes before granting Accredited or Centre  Approval status.

Regional Advisory Committees

The Council has also instituted four (4) Regional Advisory Committees:


Manchester, St. Elizabeth and Clarendon


Westmoreland, Hanover and St. James


St. Mary, Trelawny and St. Ann

Eastern/South Eastern

Kingston, St. Catherine, St. Thomas and Portland

These Regional Advisory Committees were created in an effort to ensure easy access to the educational, business and industrial sectors across the country and to ensure optimum opportunity for communication and participation at all levels.

Committees’ responsibilities:

  • sensitizing persons within their communities
  • encouraging the improvement of quality training to national standards
  • facilitating the participation of industry in the thrust to improve the quality of the labour force
  • providing representation for the region or the Council